Colors and Artwork – Subpost 4

3 Mar

Today I will be using the website http://designinstruct.com/web-design/clean-classy-web-design-photoshop/

This website provides a tutorial on creating a “classy web design on photoshop.”

The first important thing I notice when making the website design is the use of noise, such as in Step 4. Noise is important since it adds an organic feel to a website – a texture, almost like the surface of a table or a rock. I had trouble with the menu links, since Photoshop Elements does not have the same capabilities as the full version of photoshop.

The texturing in step Step 7 was interesting since I haven’t done textures before. I had no idea that it was that easy!

In Step 8, drop shadows were used to enhance the title text. I thought that the use of drop shadows in this particular case was especially notable since white shadows were used for black text – a new and interesting way to embolden text. The outer glow in the next step added a subtle but effective touch to the text.

I thought the part about the slideshow area was interesting, too. I hope that one day I would be able to create slideshows to put on websites; creating slideshows takes programming power that I have not learned yet.

Leave a Reply

