Colors and Artwork – Subpost 2

24 Jan

I’m such a total pro at this now. Well, at least I’m getting the hang of it.

I found a tutorial for making a nice-looking header for a website at http://psd.tutsplus.com/tutorials/designing-tutorials/creating-a-cool-3d-web-design-effect/. This would be useful for creating a really nice, spiffy MATH CIRCLE website!

First, I had to overcome the problem in step 1 of creating a “color overlay” in photoshop elements. It turns out that by using the background as a clipping mask (a layer that uses the opaque pixels as “masks” for another layer) one can create an identical effect: a filled background with a uniform solid color.

After that, the tutorial was no problem to follow. I found it easy to follow the well-written instructions, and before I knew it, I had a full-fledged header to show. WOW!

Well, except for the off-center pi. But that’s no biggie.

Image

Leave a comment