Learning HTML: Subpost 1

4 Nov

Hello world, once again!

It has been a while since I have posted on here… wow. Sometimes I feel that I don’t get things done because I cannot build up that “activation energy” to do what I need to do. But that “activation energy” is just my imagination, since nearly everything is possible if one tries hard enough.

Like learning html.

Which I have been doing over the past month.

Right now, I’m at the point that I can read any html file that does not include ANY references to CSS or Javascript or any other third party, non-html things. That is, websites that existed when the internet first came out.

W3schools is a great resource for learning html, and it’s what I used to learn new things. For example, I learned about useful things like text formatting and useless functions that have been outshined by CSS and HTML5 and Javascript and whatnot.

I have a website going right now (http://wwmathcircle.appspot.com/) that is a part of my webmaster duties for the Math Circle club. Here is a picture of revision 1:Image

Isn’t that logo amazing?

I used basic principles of html and even some CSS to construct the website.

The hard part of making sites in html is remembering all of those tags. I’m not sure whether to memorize them or not; after all, they are all on the internet, and who will ever know? But I am pretty sure that knowledge in this area comes with practice, and that memorization is not completely necessary.

One Response to “Learning HTML: Subpost 1”

  1. vickytarver November 27, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Great start! Another good online (interactive) site is http://www.davesite.com/webstation/html/

    Take a look at that one as well. It might inspire you, too! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

